J4P – Amish for Homeland Security

Diana Butler Bass wrote a post for the God’s Politics blog called, What if the Amish were in charge of the war on terror?

Below is a brief section from that article:

Despite attempts to avoid this particular news, the stories of the Amish practice of forgiveness eventually captivated me. Their practice of forgiveness unfolded in four public acts over the course of a week. First, some elders visited Marie Roberts, the wife of the murderer, to offer forgiveness. Then, the families of the slain girls invited the widow to their own children’s funerals. Next, they requested that all relief monies intended for Amish families be shared with Roberts and her children. And, finally, in an astonishing act of reconciliation, more than 30 members of the Amish community attended the funeral of the killer.

Be sure to read the whole article here and then let us know what you think.  Do you find this compelling?  Are there ways to translate these actions of the Amish into the broader picture of what is going on today?

2 Responses

  1. I moved back to Amish country, (southeast Ohio), last September, after a quarter century in Florida. I had forgotten just how much the Amish walk it like they talk it. They are the best neighbors I have ever had.

    As a person of Scottish/Irish ancestry, I hail from a long line of people who are able to bear a grudge for centuries. I cannot think of a single instance where I have gained anything from this.
    Your post has made me rethink some of my character defects.
    Thank you.

  2. “I cannot think of a single instance where I have gained anything from this.”
    wow- there is wisdom and beauty in your candor.

    this is such a great reminder for me… i have to say that while i may not hold a grudge (or maybe i would), i don’t know that i go out of my way to forgive, over and over again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

